CHIPLEY - A notice to proceed on the paving of the new parking lot at the old Kate M. Smith Elementary School Campus is set to be issued February 12 after the Washington County School Board approved the action when they met in regular session February 11.

Northwest Florida Construction will begin work on the $490,500 project is the beginning of construction of what is set to become the new Washington County School District Board Room.

The board also approved advertising for bids for a project at Philip Rountree Stadium. The project includes the remodeling and addition to the restrooms at the facility. Bid offers are expected to close on February 28.

There were several presentations made during the meeting which included District Spelling Bee winners, Teacher of the Year winners, Chipley High School FBLA District Award winners, Chipley High School FFA District Competition winners and recognition of the Sunshine State Scholar winner.

Washington County School District will meet again in workshop at 3 p.m. on February 18.

The winners of each are as follows:

Spelling Bee

Lane Pelfrey - KMS, first place

Callie Hicks - KMS, second place

Christian Hildebrand - RMS, third place

Teacher of the Year

Tami Parish - VMS

Kaylor Collins - KMS

Ernie Zorn - FPTC


First place winners:

Brennan Louderback

Elizabeth Kiwalabe

Jabriya Hargrove

Ariana Jett

Aliyah Ulmer

Kaytlin Adams

MacKenna Gainer

Second place winners:

Jarvis Davis

Anori Hixon

Joey Jordan

Amari Carswell

Adriyanna White

Abby Chomos

Olivia Floyd

Cara Haddan

Third place winners:

Karleigh Walters

Hanna Gidney

Cassidy Boyett

Elijah Wells

Ella Page


John Taylor

Audrey Holley

Sunshine State Scholar

Jayla Kindelspire