HOLMES COUNTY - With 53-percent of the vote, Leesa Lee will fill the seat exited by Sid Johnson for the School Board District 5 seat.

Lee received 2,292 votes, the Holmes County Supervisor of Elections reported in its unofficial results. She stood teary-eyed surrounded by her supporters at the SOE office when the results were given Tuesday night.

"It is overwhelming," Lee said. "I've lived in Holmes County my entire life ... and to think that they would trust me with their children - it means everything."

Contenders Vernon Lewis Jr. and Freddie McIntosh received 1,202 and 708 votes, respectively.

The winner for the District 1 seat will be decided in November. Non-partisan races require at least 51-percent of the vote for determination.

Winner Kaci Johnson received 34-percent (1,471 votes) of the vote, while two of her competitors for the vacated seat - J. Wayne Marsh and Milton "Tad" Wilson filed-in in a near tie at 756 and 760 votes, respectively.

Johnson celebrated her confirmation at home with her husband and children.

"I'm so thankful and very humble about the support that everyone has showed me," she said. "I'm just very really excited about the news."

Also in the District 1 race, Joey Whitaker and Eric Marell garnered 646 and 504 votes, respectively.


Be sure to check Sept. 5's edition of Holmes County Times-Advertiser for more election coverage.