Early voting begins today for the April 28 election that includes property tax renewals in Terrebonne and Lafourche parishes and a Lafourche Parish School Board race.

In Terrebonne Parish, Fire Protection District No. 7 in Chauvin is seeking a 10-year renewal for its 16.15-mill tax. A mill is $1 in tax levied on every $1,000 of taxable property. A home assessed at $150,000 would expect to pay $123.75 a year for that tax.

The district says it expects to collect $1.04 million annually from the tax from 2019 to 2028.

In Lafourche Parish, Fire Protection District No. 6 in Thibodaux will vote on a 10-year renewal of a 7.6-mill tax, collecting $368,600 annually, or $1,140 on a $150,000 home.

Residents of Fire District No. 3 in Galliano will vote on a 10-year renewal of an 8-mill tax, collecting $4.7 million annually, or $1,200 per $150,000 household.

Two candidates will also be running for the District 8 School Board seat. Republican Chris Lagarde and Democrat Raymond J. Toups qualified for the runoff election after edging out Barry Uzee, a Republican, in the March 24 election.

The seat was vacated in May when former board member Ronald Pere resigned, saying he was moving outside of the Raceland-area district. He had been on the board for 10 years.

Early voting will be held from from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. today and Monday through April 21.

Terrebonne residents can vote early at the Registrar of Voters Office, 8026 Main St., Houma.

Lafourche residents can vote at the Lafourche Parish Registrar of Voters Offices at 307 W. Fourth St., Thibodaux, and 16241 E. Main St., Galliano.

Ballot information and polling locations are available at www.geauxvote.com.

For information, Terrebonne residents can call 873-6533 and Lafourche residents can call 447-3256 or 632-5520.

Staff Writer Julia Arenstam can be reached at 448-7636 or julia.arenstam@houmatoday.com. Follow her on Twitter at @gingerale214.