CHIPLEY - Washington County School Board members were presented with this year's nominees for the district's top teachers and school related employees when the board met in regular session Monday.

Nominees for 2018 Teacher of the Year are: Erin Harris - Kate M. Smith Elementary School; Connie Crutchfield - Roulhac Middle School; Carol Schimpf - Chipley High School; Amy Brown - Vernon Elementary School; Brenda Basnaw - Vernon Middle School; Kevin Russell, Vernon High School and Brandon Stevenson - Florida Panhandle Technical College.

Nominated for 2017 Rookie Teacher of the Year are Kaylor Collins - KMS; Mackenzie Lane - RMS; Benjamin Willis - CHS; Angela Newcomb - VES; Raquel Greer - VMS; Dana Bohac - VHS and Rhonda Wilson - FPTC.

2017 School Related Employees of the Year nominees are: Valerie Foxworth - KMS; Minda Grantham - RMS; Jana Shores - CHS; Lisa Glass - VES; Paula McDonald - VMS; Victoria Andrews - VHS; Neomi Bouton - FPTC; Paula Gipson - District Office and Data Center; Joann Walsingham - Chipley Bus Barn and Grace Roche - Vernon Bus Barn.

The winners will be announced at the district's annual Employee Recognition Reception, which will take place at 3:30 on January 19 at Vernon High School.

The school district also received a more than $6,500 in check presentations.

First, Daniel Young presented a $1,515.70 check on behalf of the Florida Forest Service for a portion of the proceeds from recreation revenues earned at Pine Log State Forest over the past fiscal year. The allotment is an annual payment made to Washington County, based upon 15 percent of the gross receipts in proportion to the amount of forest acreage located in the county.

The United Way of Northwest Florida also presented a $5,000 to the school district to benefit programs for homeless students. On hand for the presentation were Bryan Taylor, President & CEO of United Way of Northwest Florida and Board of Directors members Victoria Williams, Will Cramer, and Michael Kozar. The money comes from the estate of the late Peter Michael Bardach, a former United Way supporter who left an endowment to the organization's Northwest Florida chapter.

Vernon Middle School Beta Club members were also congratulated for a successful trip to the State Beta Convention and the upcoming invitational trip to the National Convention. Kadyn Carter made school history as the first VMS state officer. She will serve as State Beta Chaplin for the next year.

The club won first place at state in "Spotlight Your Club," the Scrapbook division, and in Campaign Skit. The club also won second place in Songfest and third place in t-shirt design.

Individually, Kirstyn Brown placed first in Pencil Sketching; Benjamin McDonald placed third in Woodworking; Tayelor Spears placed third in Essay Division II

The board also recognized the county's spelling bee winners. First place was Ja'rvis Ridgeway of VMS, followed by Second Place Emma Holliday of VES and Third Place Gabe Jimenez of RMS. Ridgeway will go on to represent Washington County at the Big Bend Regional Spelling Bee, which will be held in Tallahassee on February 18.

The board will next meet at 3 p.m. Tuesday in a FPTC workshop and again at 3 p.m. January 23 in a budget workshop.