The Delta Theta Chapter of The Delta Kappa Gamma International met Tuesday, February 12, 2013 at its regularly scheduled meeting at the Panhandle Area Educational Cooperative in Chipley.  Members are from Holmes, Jackson, and Washington counties. 

Elizabeth Bell, president, met with the Executive Board and shared that the state convention is being held in Orlando, April 19-21.  Our own Merle Jones has been nominated for a two-year term as president of the state organization.   She also reported that Delta Theta member and International President, Dr. Beverly Helms, had contacted her and encouraged our chapter to continue to “support a young educator, prepare some goody bags for beginning teachers, attend meetings, take care of each other and stay in touch with all members.”

Ruth McCrary, 1st Vice President, and registrar for the upcoming Southeast Regional Conference, encouraged members to go and help with the registration process.  Those volunteering to help were Susan Roberts, Elizabeth Bell, Jackie Jacks, Linda Mincey and Amanda Adams. The conference is being held in Orlando, July 9-13, 2013.

The World Fellowship Committee was in charge of the program and shared that since the early 1960’s, individual chapters and the Florida state organization had provided scholarships for women from other countries to come to the United States and study at a university.    These young women could receive a degree in education, which would enable them to return to their home country and help with the education of children and adults.  Amanda Adams, chairman, presented the program.

 Susan Roberts, Washington County School Board member announced that Delta Theta member, Ashley Kilpatrick, was the Kate Smith Elementary School Rookie Teacher of the Year and had also received the honor of being the Washington County Rookie Teacher of the Year. 

Those attending the meeting were Susan Roberts, Marianne Barton, Amanda Adams, Jackie Jacks, Linda Mincey, Merle Jones, Delanie Pritchard, Kathleen Wicker, Susan Mitchell, Joli Hartzog, Elizabeth Bell, Debbie Bush, Dotty Cook, Renea McKenzie, and Ruth McCrary.