Wausau voters to elect three council members

Wausau election today

Wausau Mayor Roger Hagan rides in the Wausau Christmas Parade on Saturday. Hagan is not seeking re-election to the Town Council.

Published: Tuesday, December 11, 2012 at 01:12 PM.

WAUSAU — Residents of Wausau are turning out today, Dec. 11, to vote for three Town Council seats.

Voters will chose three representatives to the town council from among five candidates.

Running for office are Marlene Carter Blount, Kerry J. Collins, Hope Genene Hicks, Bobby J. Phillips and Shirley Culbreth Rightenburg.

Phillips is the only incumbent seeking re-election.

Mayor Roger Hagan and Mayor Pro-Tem Gail Culbreth are not seeking re-election, said City Clerk Margaret Riley.

“The way the council voted, the top two vote-getters tonight will each get a four-year term, and the third place candidate will get a two-year term, which is the rest of Roger’s term,” Riley said.

The new council members will take their seats on Jan. 10, when the council will reorganize and elect new officers, Riley said.

1 2

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top