Chipley student chosen for trip to Washington D.C.

Published: Monday, January 13, 2014 at 07:27 PM.

Nominees for the Teacher of the Year award include Richard Davenport, Chipley High; Kimberly Hartzon, KMS Elementary; Jiranda White, Roulhac Middle; Amy Brown, Vernon Elementary; Sally Brock, Vernon High; Kimberly Brown, Vernon Middle; and Curtis Green, WHTC.

Nominees for Rookie Teacher of the Year include William Chomos, Chipley High; Kimberly Tuel, KMS Elementary; Christine Chomos, Roulhac Middle; Nicholas Winslow, Vernon Elementary; Sabrina Woods, Vernon High; Rodgers Coleman, Vernon Middle; and Sherri Skipper, WHTC.

School Related Employee of the Year nominees include Traci Grimes, Chipley Bus Garage; Jan Paul, District/Data/Media/WISE; Hazel Finch, Chipley High; Jeannie Davidson, KMS Elementary; Felisha McIntyre, Roulhac Middle; Jennifer Snowden, Vernon Bus Garage; Judy Tison, Vernon High; Donna Taylor, Vernon Middle; and Shirley Thompson, WHTC.

The board members also learned that CHS student Melanie Prescott has been selected by the National Achievement of Future Physicians and Medical Scientists to represent Chipley High School in Washington, D.C.

Chipley High School Principal Charles Williams told the board that Prescott will travel to the nation’s Capitol in February where she will have the opportunity to sit in on lectures given by world-renown authors. She will also observe surgeries where state-of-the-art robotic instruments are used.

In an effort to be awarded a scholarship to medical school, Prescott will compete against other high school students from across the country.

“This will give her a chance to earn up to $185,000 in scholarships,” Williams said.

1 2 3

Reader comments posted to this article may be published in our print edition. All rights reserved. This copyrighted material may not be re-published without permission. Links are encouraged.

▲ Return to Top