BONIFAY – The 79 Corridor Project took another step forward last week when the Holmes County Board of Commissioners gave a green light to project coordinators to research and pursue grants to fund feasibility studies and various engineering jobs. After those projects are complete, more grants can be sought to actually break ground on the project.

Washington County Commissioners gave a similar approval last last month, with the City of Bonifay expected to do the same when the council meets in regular session this month.

In other business, an agreement letter between Holmes County Commissioners and the Holmes County School Board has been drafted for the purchase of the old Bonifay Elementary School campus. School board officials recently agreed to proceed with selling the site to the county for $250,000, with the sale expected to close in August.

Several road projects were also discussed, including the upcoming surveying and design phase for a resurfacing project on Idlewood Drive and Idlewood Court. The county project will be funded by a $22,000 Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) grant through the Small County Road Assistance Program (SCRAP) and will begin in 2019.

Work will begin this month to pave one mile Deacon Road, with a notice to proceed having already been issued.

The board also signed a resolution approving reduced project limits on the Tobe Retherford Road paving project. The initial scope of work was funded at $2.6 million and included paving the entire road; however the plan had to be revised after the county was unable to obtain right-of-way agreements from some landowners along the roadway. FDOT approved the new plans, which are funded at $1.4 million and will pave only a 1.6-mile section of the road from Highway 179 to the Bonifay Gritney Road. T

In other items, commissioners agreed to hire Steven Lassiter as the new inmate work crew supervisor and former road department employee Clayton Brown was dismissed from his job duties on grounds of job abandonment.

Holmes County Board of County Commissioners will meet again in regular session at 9 a.m. on June 13.